First Faculty of Medicine, Charles University in Prague Charles University in Prague

We Are Here To Help You

Do you need help or information and you don’t know who to turn to?

Contact us!


The top representative of the 1st Faculty of Medicine of the Charles University is a dean. Dean manages the faculty and accounts for its activities to the rector of the Charles University. In particular areas of faculty’s activities, the dean is represented by vice deans. Jointly with representatives of other parts of the management, vice deans form an advisory board the dean’s collegium.

Dean’s Office is the main executive unit responsible for the economic and administrative functioning of the faculty. Its departments are in charge of e.g. the administrative organisation of studies, economic agenda, technical management of buildings and facilities, etc. The operation of the Dean’s Office is directed, in cooperation with the relevant vice deans, by a secretary. Secretary is responsible for internal administration and economic functioning of the faculty. A secretary is subordinate to and appointed by the dean.

Two self-governing bodies, the Academic Senate and Scientific Board, also have important decision-making powers. The Academic Senate is a representative body of the academic community. It can importantly influence the operation of the faculty as well as its long-term goals and development. The dean presents to the Academic Senate for its approval the faculty’s budget, proposals of internal regulations, long-term policies, and other important documents.

The Academic Senate confirms the Scientific Board, a self-governing body appointed by the dean. Members of the Scientific Board are important experts from the faculty but also other institutes. The Scientific Board approves study plans, discusses long-term plans of the faculty, participates in the process of appointing new professors and habilitation of assistant professors, and expresses its views on issues related to the scientific standards of teaching and research at the faculty.

For special tasks, expert committees and informal work groups can be created. Most of these advisory bodies are appointed by the dean, but some committees can also be formed by the Academic Senate, the Scientific Board, or in collaboration between these two bodies. From a formal standpoint, committees formed by the Academic Senate have more powers.

Page ranking: (by 4 users) manage